A few more things…

Posted on April 28, 2010

0


1) Mom warns of cyber bullying: Okay, this isn’t new.  I saw a piece on Good Morning America about it.  They were treating it as some sort of unknown phenomenon.  But it isn’t.  People have been behaving like this ever since the days of the bulletin boards.  Anonymity is a powerful thing.  If you were given a microphone and asked to say whatever you wanted, and you know it would be broadcast to people who had to listen, and you knew that no one would be able to tell it was you, what would you say?  How would you say it?  I know I would say some things that people might find offensive.  What matters is whether or not you would say those things in public, where people know it’s you and they can face you directly.  But shows like GMA, representative of our mass media, treat these events like they’re special somehow.  They’re not: people are jerks, and they use every opportunity to get away with it.

My favorite part of the show was when a psychiatrist came on and started talking about the reasons why mothers might engage in this sort of behavior.  She pointed to the loneliness, the isolation, the stress, etc.  Never once did she say anything remotely like, “People are evil.  People are mean.”  Instead it was justification for bad behavior — don’t blame them, they’re in a hard situation.  Bull.

2) Related is this story: the latest update about a teen beaten by a schoolmate over a series of insulting text messages.  Speaking from personal experience, I understand how infuriating it can be to receive hateful e-mail or text messages from someone.  But that can never be justification for BEATING SOMEONE NEAR TO DEATH.  Clearly someone failed to educate this kid on how to behave properly (I blame the parents).

3) Soon I will be finished with my undergraduate degrees.  This means, among other things, that I will have a bit more time on my hands.  I’ve decided to refocus this blog and narrow my topics to comply with it’s original purpose: as an outlet for my experiences as a father.  I will use a different blog for my rants on politics, social commentary and the like.  From time to time news will crop up here, but only as it relates to parenting.

4) The best part: I’ve added the ability to post video.  I’ll be showing off more of our family videos, especially of our daughter, so that friends and family can enjoy some of our experiences.  Here’s the first sampling —

Posted in: Uncategorized