Why politics?

Posted on April 14, 2010

1


Edit: I have learned many things in life, and one of the most important is that I can be wrong.  My view on the following post has changed in the two days that I’ve had to think about it.  I probably won’t delete the post itself, because the links and imformation are still relevant, but please be aware that I’m no longer hold its conclusion to be accurate.

I hate politics.  No, hate is too mild a world… I loathe politics.  I’ve spoken to a lot of people during my time as a college student about different political views, and most of them agree on basic principles: the right to individual freedoms, support for a strong America, individuals should have the opportunities they need to succeed, etc.  Most have expressed a disdain for politics, especially as they’re protrayed by America’s media.  If we had our way, there’d be no politics.

But I also dislike working out, and I dislike restraining my eating habits.  I do these things because they’re good for me, and I firmly believe that, as a citizen and as a parent, I need to be informed about politics.  Unfortunately, this leads to opinions, because I’m the type who immediately has to comment on everything.  Thus: President Obama has finally disappointed me.

Sure, the nuclear summit happened.  Yes, “47 countries signed a pledge to ramp up efforts at keeping nuclear materials out of the wrong hands.”  It’s even impressive that India and Pakistan were included.  However, Iran and North Korea weren’t present.  The President said nothing concrete about dealing with attacks against America.  And:

“The administration has also described its initiatives as the first serious effort to get U.S. nuclear policy out of a Cold War mentality on the U.S.-Soviet/Russia nuclear balance and on to the more-pressing concerns of nuclear proliferation and “loose nukes…”  This is not quite fair to the last three administrations, all three of which deserve credit for taking serious and consequential steps to confront the “loose nukes” problem.”   — Peter Feaver, Foreign Policy

So America puts together a meeting with all these nations, televises it — well, not really, since so much press was denied access — and claims success.  In fact, the only thing the media hasn’t shown us is a “Mission Accomplished.”

Again, I understand, the President hasn’t accomplished any mission.  This is only the first step.  He’s said as much directly.  But he’s also missed a very important detail: all the nations who were agreeable to his proposal were agreeable years ago.  The problem nations, Iran and North Korea, are as resistant as ever, maybe even more so.  Now the next summit isn’t until 2012, and North Korea won’t get an invitation if South Korea has anything to say about it.  Iran has two years to work on destroying Israel.  And Mr. Obama hasn’t made any statement against their policies, or even hinted at the possibility that we would openly oppose them, giving them virtually free liscence to do as they please.

But I’ve rambled enough.  In the end, remember that Wisconsin is crazy.

Posted in: Philosophy, Politics